The upcoming Pokémon Presents will fill us in on Scarlet and Violet

Smoliv (a Pokémon which is just a shy/scared looking olive (amusingly, it's actually not a small olive, but bigger than your average olive, probably about fifty times bigger, isn't that funny?)) They look frightened, mouth wobbling and eyes wide and fixed. Around them is dirt and the shade from a tree, though most of the earth is covered in blazing sun. I wonder what's going on.

The Pokémon Company is hosting a Pokémon Presents on Wednesday, August 3. That’s right, just a couple of days before we get more news on various updates and upcoming releases. The company confirmed in a tweet that the presentation will feature updates on Pokémon apps and videogames, with special mention given to the next generation Pokémon games coming at the end of this year, Pokémon Scarlet & Violet.

Pokémon Presents are similar to Nintendo Directs – small presentations that explain all the stuff the company has been up to. They’re like long adverts for things people are going to buy anyway. This Pokémon Presents is around 20 minutes long, which is more than enough time for us to get lots of new details on the upcoming generation.

There’s not much other information out there, so all there is to do now is wait. Or, y’know, you can just read more stuff. We like writing about Pokémon, so we got lots of it. Check out our Pokémon Scarlet & Violet starters, Pokémon Scarlet & Violet release date, and Pokémon Scarlet & Violet legendaries guides if you’re a glutton for smolivs.

When is the August Pokémon Presents?

The Pokémon Company is hosting a Pokémon Presents on Wednesday, August 3. It’s around 20 minutes long and starts at 14:00 BST / 09:00 EDT / 06:00 PDT / 22:00 JST. You can get ready with the video below.

YouTube Thumbnail

For something a little different, check out our Xenoblade Chronicles 3 review to see why we call it the best thing since sliced bread (we don’t actually call it that, you’ll have to click on the link to find out our real quote (it’s even worse than the made up one)).