We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Resident Evil Village DLC characters, story, and more

Nintendo Switch and Resi fans finally have access to the Resident Evil Village DLC, but what exactly is it? We'll cover the story, characters, and more.

Rose staring intently at a hand gun in the Resident Evil Village DLC

At Tokyo Game Show 2022, Capcom delivered fantastic news as it confirmed Resident Evil Village, Resident Evil 2, Resident Evil 3, and Resident Evil VII are on the way to Nintendo Switch. Better still, the Resident Evil Village DLC, Shadows of Rose, arrived on the platform in December 2022, and it’s a must-play for those that enjoy the storyline that surrounds the Winters family. So here we are, ready and eager to share all of the relevant information with you, such as what characters you can expect to see, how the narrative might play out, and more.

For even more spooky goodness from this universe, make sure you check out our picks for the best Resident Evil games on Nintendo Switch and our guide to Resident Evil’s Chris. Or, for other freaky offerings, check out our choices for the best zombie games, best Switch horror games, and best mobile horror games if you dare.

Anyway, here’s everything you need to know about the Resident Evil Village DLC.

Rose surrounded by monsters in the Resident Evil Village DLC

When is the Resident Evil Village DLC release date?

Despite initially not having any DLC plans, Capcom released the Resident Evil Village expansion, Shadows of Rose, on October 28 2022 for PlayStation, Xbox, and PC players. It came out on December 2 for Switch users.

Who’s the Resident Evil Village DLC protagonist?

The protagonist, as the name of the expansion indicates, is Rose Winters, the daughter of Ethan and Mia Winters. However, unlike previous Resident Evil characters, this teenager has unique gifts courtesy of her encounter with the Megmycete, and we certainly can’t wait to see her put them to good use.

What’s the Resident Evil Village DLC story?

The story takes place sixteen years after the events of Resident Evil Village and follows Rose as she seeks to repress her unwanted abilities, thus becoming a human instead of a mutant. However, as you would expect from Resi, nothing is ever that simple and the young girl enters the consciousness of the Megamycete.

As a result, she finds herself in a mysterious realm that may feel familiar to you as you revisit locations such as the infamous Dimitrescu castle. During her time here, Rose meets her own doppelganger, while a hallucination known as Michael claims he can help her to find what she needs.

Rose reading some writing on the wall in the Resident Evil Village DLC

To survive this perilous journey, you must wisely utilise limited resources such as handgun ammo and health items. On top of this, you need to use the abilities that Rose hates in order to conclude the story of the Winters family.

There you have it, everything you need to know about the Resident Evil Village DLC. For some less spooky action, check out our best games like The Witcher 3 list.