We may earn a commission when you buy through links in our articles. Learn more.

Dreepy evolution guide

Dreepy’s evolution into Drakloak who then ascends into Dragapult is a formidable evolution line, and we’re here to tell you how to get to the top of the chain.

Dreepy evolution: Dreepy, Drakloak, and Dragapult in front of a blue and purple background

The Dreepy evolution line is honestly one of the best in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, but you have to put in some serious work. As a dragon- and ghost-type hybrid, these ‘mon can cause hefty damage, so it’s only natural that you have to hit some pretty high levels before you progress up the chain.

Still, before we tell you how to evolve Dreepy and, subsequently, how to evolve Drakloak, you might want to know more about Rockruff’s evolution, Shellder’s evolution, Scyther’s evolution, Budew’s evolution, Floette’s evolution, Bisharp evolution, Misdreavus’ evolution, Applin’s evolution, Salandit’s evolution, and Rellor’s evolution. Or, if you prefer, we can tell you how to evolve Pawmo, how to evolve Charcadet, how to evolve Primeape, how to evolve Finizen, and how to evolve Sneasel.

Anyway, allow us to tell you all you need to know about Dreepy’s evolution.

Who is Dreepy?

Dreepy is number 885 in the Pokédex and is originally part of the Galar cast, though it does reappear in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet. According to its Pokédex entries, Dreepy is a creature that’s reborn as a ghost Pokémon and wanders the areas that it used to call home in its past life. A weak little creature, Dreepy prefers to travel in groups (less a small child be able to beat it in battle), frequently going out into the oceans of Paldea to poke at Pokémon in the sea for fun.

YouTube Thumbnail

How do I evolve Dreepy?

To evolve Dreepy, you need to get it to level 50. Yes, it’s that simple, just like with Ralts’ evolution. No steps or stones are involved. Though, having said that, reaching level 50 just to evolve a stage one Pokémon might seem a bit excessive.

The best way to level up Dreepy (and Drakloak) is to battle with it, feed it delicious dinners at camp, and offer it EXP packets. Eventually, you’ll reach level 50 and move on to the second stage Pokémon.

How do I evolve Drakloak?

Once you get Drakloak at level 50, you then must reach level 60 to evolve into Dragapult. Again, it’s on the higher side for a second-stage evolution, though some other creatures, such as Shelgon, Sliggoo, Nobat, Skrelp, and Mienfoo, require you to get into the 40s and 50s before you can evolve them.

Where can I catch Dreepy?

Of course, knowing the level you need to reach is all well and good, but it’s not much good without a Dreepy or Drakloak on your team. So allow us to tell you the places in which these creatures reside.

You can find Dreepy in:

  • Sword and Shield – Lake of Outrage, Axew’s Eye, Rolling Fields
  • Scarlet – Tera Raid Battle Search (three-star) and Union Circle
  • Violet – South Province (Area One, Area Four, Area Five, and Area Six), East Province (Area Two and Area Three), West Proince (Area Two and Area Three), North Province (Glaseado Mountain), and Terra Raid Battles

Where can I catch Drakloak?

You can bypass the first stage and go straight after the second stage creature if you so wish. This is where you can find Drakloak on Nintendo Switch:

  • Sword and Shield – Lake of Outrage, Axew’s Eye, Rolling Fields
  • Scarlet – Tera Raid Battle Search (three-star) and Union Circle
  • Violet – North Province (Area One, Area Two, Area Three, Casseroya Lake, and Glaseado Mountain) and Terra Raid Battles

There you have it, how to evolve Dreepy and how to evolve Drakloak. If you want to know how to beat this evolution line, our dragon Pokémon weakness and ghost Pokémon weakness guides. But why stop there? To become the very best, you need to know what the dark Pokémon weakness, steel Pokémon weakness, psychic Pokémon weakness, fire Pokémon weakness, and normal Pokémon weakness is.